Sorry I haven’t posted anything in a while guys! I was just a teeny bit completely distracted by NBC’s glorious Hannibal. (If you haven’t seen it, save your soul. It will do horrible, twisted things to you…) And my laptop screen is busted, plus fixing some issues with my classes next Fall and my brother graduating high school. I’ve been busy. (Who knew I had a life…)

Anyway. I want to talk about Fanfiction today, specifically, Supernatural Fanfiction.

I feel like Fanfiction gets a bit of a bad reputation, which is probably at least a bit deserved because holy mother of Lucifer, I’ve read some really horrible things in Fanfiction archives. But sometimes you want to read the bad stuff. Or at least, I do. It makes me feel better about my writing. And there are tons of good stories too, and also every now and then you’ll stumble onto something so beautiful it’ll make you cry.

So, here are my Fanfiction Dos and Don’ts for the brilliantness of the Supernatural fandom.

(Also, a brief disclaimer: these are my opinions on these matters. If you happen to love anything I say is a definite Don’t, please don’t take offense because you can write or read whatever you want. I’m just explaining my issues with the SPN fanfictions I see)

Crossovers: Do. Absolutely do. I have a serious love of crossovers. With Supernatural, my favorites are the Superwholock stories. Because I’m a huge nerd and don’t judge me, it’s awesome. (For those sad people who don’t know, Superwholock is Supernatural, Doctor Who and Sherlock.)

Wincest: DON’T. Not ever. I hate every single form of Wincest. Incest is fucking gross people, I don’t care how hot Jared and Jensen are, when they are playing Sam and Dean they are brothers and I don’t even want to entertain the thought of it.

Destiel: Oh please do. Dean and Cas’ “profound bond” is absolutely adorable and I swear, one day Dean will realize that he’s a total dick and realize that Cas is in love with him. It’s just a given.

Serial Killer AUs: Do. For anyone unfamiliar, this is where the supernatural element of SPN is taken out and Sam and Dean are actual serial killers. I love AUs and I love the idea of Sam and Dean being serial killers for real. Dean especially really fits the profile of a serial killer. (I watch too many crime shows… *shrugs*)

Angel Incest: Blarg. In case my tiny rant about Wincest wasn’t clear enough: DON’T. I don’t care if they’re angels, it’s still disgusting. They’re fucking angels people. Angels don’t HAVE sex. At least the majority. Anna did because she was human-ish then and she specifically mention sex being something angels don’t have. Gabriel did because he’s fucking Gabriel. And Balthazar did because fuck the rules. And none of them screwed another angel because THEY’RE FAMILY. Ew.

Gender Bending: Don’t. Gender bending is pretty obviously where you take a character and change their gender. Usually it’s male to female. In SPN, it’s more often than not Sam. But it doesn’t matter because the point of gender bending is to change the character’s gender and keep their personality, but more often than not, the female version is just a generic version of a female original character – usually an author insert. So let’s stop with the gender bending and call a spade a spade. You’re a shitty writer if you do it because you want two characters to have sex but you don’t want to write gay sex. Anyway. Just, don’t. Unless it’s done by, like, a spell or a curse or something and is played for laughs and the character retains their actual personality, it’s just not good.

MPreg: Don’t. Please don’t. MPreg is when a dude gets pregnant. It’s usually very poorly written, though I admit I’ve read a couple of good ones. Generally, author’s don’t bother explaining just how the fuck a guy got pregnant and seem to have set their story in an AU world where guys just get pregnant all the time. It’s bizarre. And gross. And I’m really not a fan.

Giving Sam and Dean a little sister: Why the fuck would you do that? Don’t, obviously. It’s ridiculous. Sam and Dean don’t need a sister. If you want to add a third party to their hunting duo, how about Adam? You know, their actual brother? That guy they left to rot in Hell?

Weechester: Absolutely do. Weechester is basically writing pre-series stories where Sam and Dean are kids. And they are often adorable, sometimes heartbreaking but oh so wonderful. It’s like an extended flashback of awesome when they’re done right. I love Weechester fics.

Adding any new hunters in and pairing them with Sam or Dean: Don’t you fucking dare. That is so annoying. No one wants to read about your fantasies about hunting with the Winchesters and one of them falling for you. NO ONE. Look, 90% of us have those sort of stories in our heads, but we don’t all inflict them on other people so don’t you do it either. It’s annoying. It’s really annoying.

Any Romance at all: Meh. This is an iffy one. I hate romance, especially in Fanfiction where most of the authors have no idea how to write it. However, there are some really good ones out there. I say, as long as it involves two canonical characters and isn’t incest, go for it. I don’t care who you pair together, even if it’s Crowley and Cas (dude, that’d be kinda awesome). Romance can be interesting if it’s written correctly. So it’s a do/don’t because it’s so easily fucked up.

Stanford Era: Do. These fics are so interesting. I love reading about the Stanford era stuff and when they’re done write they’re amazing.

Character Death: Do. It’s SPN. You cannot escape character death and I have grown into a twisted person who is a total masochist. So kill off whoever the hell you want, even Sam if you want.

Character Bashing: I’d avoid it if I were you. There are plenty of characters in SPN I want to tear a new one, but writing them grossly out of character to demonstrate how horrible they are isn’t going to get you anywhere. Sometimes it’s okay, but generally it’s something to avoid. If you really hate the character, just have them brutally killed. It’s what I tend to do with Amelia.

Secretly Genius Dean: Please don’t. I can understand the appeal, but don’t. Dean isn’t a genius. He’s not stupid, but he’s not fucking Einstein. He’s got a GED and he’s more comfortable quoting movies than philosophers. I’m not saying it’s a bad thing; it’s part of who Dean is. It’ feels like a huge breech of his character to have Dean doing calculus or trig or something. He doesn’t like school. It bored him. He’s not an idiot, but he’s not interested in being books smart. He has practical smarts, no need to know anything that he can just have Sam Google or research for him.

And finally:

Samifer: DO. There can never be enough Samifer. Just make sure it’s not all lovey-dovey, happy shit because that relationship is fucked up in a thousand beautiful ways. It hurts so good. Seriously.

So there you have it. Some of my Fanfiction Dos and Don’ts. Not really sorry if I offended anyone. Like I said, you’re totally entitled to disagree with anything I said. They’re just my opinions and I’m hardly the Fanfiction God or anything.

If you want to read some great fanfics, I have a small sample of those here. And if you’re interested in reading my SPN fanfics, you can find those here.

Comments
  1. jupp schmitz says:

    Hey there, I was wondering if it was okay to quote this (with link) on my tumblr?

Leave a Reply

