I have officially survived more than a week after the Supernatural finale. I find that to be a miracle considering that last Saturday I watched the Doctor Who finale and Thursday was the Elementary finale and this Wednesday was the Criminal Minds finale that SPOILER ALERT killed off a character they were just starting to develop properly. Those bastards.

But anyway, what I want to talk about today is the fact that I’ve been having these really aggravating arguments with people and was recently called a hypocrite BY MY OWN MOTHER for the way I act about Supernatural.

Basically, the gist of the story is: I despise Twilight with the white-hot intensity of a thousand suns. And I am vocal about that hatred. Then, someone said that they thought the recent season of Supernatural was stupid and the storyline was idiotic. I flipped my shit, guys, I will not lie. It utterly pissed me off. I didn’t flip out on the person who said it, but I did rant about it for a while to my brother and my mom overheard and told me I was getting upset for someone doing the same thing that I do to Twilight.

That made me stop and think because I never, EVER want to be compared to the crazy Twilight fangirls that scare the shit out of me.

Look, to be clear, everyone can have their own opinion and I get that there are people who just don’t like Supernatural. I can even accept that there are people who legitimately like Twilight. If everyone had the same opinions the world would be boring.

However, I do have to defend myself a bit: yes, I am a totally insane fangirl and yes, if you insult the fandoms I am a part of I will be very quick to argue my points. But the thing is, I LIKE arguing with people about that stuff. Not screaming, yelling, tossing insults, etc. of course. Just a good debate.

The difference between me and the fangirls I don’t like is that I won’t tell someone that they’re an idiot simply because they say that they don’t like something I happen to adore.

In the case of Supernatural, there are many fans who don’t like to hear negative things said about the show, but I’m not one of them. Hell, I think I rant enough about the show that some people probably have to wonder why I’m so in love with. There are things about the show that I despise with such intensity that thinking about them upsets me.

I can go on for hours about the shitty things I hate Dean for doing, about the stupid choices Sam has made and about how much John Winchester pissed me off. Yet, I love them all.

I’m not one of those fangirls who thinks my fandom is above reproach. I don’t think Supernatural is perfect. What I do think, however, is that it is brilliant. I think the show is a lot deeper than some people think. I think the storyline (especially this season) is unique and beautiful. I think the relationship between Sam and Dean is amazing. I think Supernatural has some of the best actors ever on their show. I think the special effects are phenomenal. (And have improved dramatically since season 1.) I think the beauty of the show is that despite its flaws, it’s still remarkable and tells a story people are interested in. A story that I am very much in love with, with characters I care about.

I want people to stop assuming that being part of a fandom means that fangirls are the devotedly insane type of people who will bite your hand off for insulting their favorite character.

Seriously, go ahead and tell me how much you hate Sam Winchester. I have a very close friend who actually despises Sam to the point that she will write fanfictions with him being tortured just because. She’s a bit twisted, mind you, but it doesn’t bother me. In fact, we have some interesting debates about the show and other fandoms because we actually don’t agree on much of anything except that we love the shows.

I enjoy those kind of debates, talking about the nature of characters and what their choices mean and whether or not they were a “bad” character. It’s interesting and I learn things doing that.

Basically, what I’m saying is: I might be overly protective of my fandoms, I might get upset when someone goes to a site dedicated to loving the show and says it’s stupid, but if you’ve got actual reasons backing you up and aren’t just an idiotic troll, then I completely and utterly do not care that you have a differing opinion.

No one can convince me that Supernatural isn’t awesome, but then again, I doubt I could convince someone that it IS awesome if they’re so deadest on hating it so there’s that.

I think I’m done now… I need to go prepare myself for watching the re-run of “As Time Goes By” tonight. Because I’m a masochist and I wanna rip open the scars.

Comments
  1. isismama says:

    i used to watch “As Time Goes By” with my Dad on PBS. Therefore, I have a warm feeling when I watch it now. *smiles nostalgically*
    I’m new to Supernatural, within the last couple of months. I’ve been a True Blood/Southern Vampire Mysteries fangirl for years, though. I made a negative comment about Sookie Stackhouse’s choices and got ripped by a reviewer about not being loyal. It made me tilt my head to the side with a baffled look like WTF?

    • sammygirl1967 says:

      I hate when people can’t take criticism of anything – it’s not like you’re saying that you hate it, just that it’s not perfect! It definitely doesn’t mean you aren’t loyal just because you can see the flaws in something you love. The flaws are what make characters real!

Leave a Reply

