I know I’m not alone in this, though it’s possible that me and my small group of friends are the only ones who think this, but I have to say that Meg’s comment about Amelia being a “unicorn” seriously pissed me off and I now hate unicorns.

I know I don’t like Amelia, not even a little bit. I tried and the writers just couldn’t seem to make her into a real character and I gave up. It’s easier to hate someone than to try pointlessly to like them simply because I’m being told that I should. And now, after that unicorn line, I’m seriously annoyed at the writers.

It bothers me because they’re implying that Amelia is apparently UBER SPECIAL. It reeks of desperation: LOOK! Sam quit hunting to be with Amelia! See! He loves her! She’s really special and unique and wonderful! Even MEG thinks so!! PLEASE LIKE HER.

Ugh.

First, it’s really annoying to be told I should like a character who I don’t empathize with or give two shits about. Especially when it’s so obvious. Second, Amelia ISN’T special. Sam has quit hunting before, remember? Way back when he was 22 at the beginning of the show? He spent most of the first season talking about quitting hunting again once Yellow Eyes was dead.

And he had Jessica. Now, he didn’t quit FOR her, but he loved her and that was obvious without being shoved down our throats. Sam has loved before, he’s quit hunting before and one annoying Mary-Sue with a dog is nothing remarkable or special and sure as hell not “legendary creature” material.

That line made me want to throw things. I know I’m biased because I really hate her so much, but think about: what purpose did that comment serve other than to try and let us know, AGAIN, how apparently wonderful Amelia is. There was no reason for Meg to comment on Sam and Amelia’s relationship.

Meg knows Sam’s past, she knows about Jess and Madison and Ruby and that Sarah girl who was way more interesting than Amelia is. Amelia isn’t the first girl Sam’s loved and she’s the least likeable of them all. (That includes Ruby…) and Meg wouldn’t give a shit about her. If anything, Meg should’ve made some derisive comment about how Sam’s relationships usually work. She’s a demon, it’s what she does. And Sam’s an easy target there seeing as every girl he’s loved is DEAD.

Meg calling Cas her unicorn made more sense… She’s a demon, he’s an angel and they’re friends and she seems to actually care about him. THAT is rare and worthy of the “legendary creature” status. Amelia is not.

So now, thanks to that episode, I can’t think about unicorns without thinking about Amelia and getting angry because I don’t want to have the purity and wonder of rainbow farting unicorns compared to the flat, boring nothingness that is Amelia Richardson.

 

Leave a Reply

