Character: Henry Winchester

First Appearance: S8E12, “As Time Goes By”

supernaturaltimegoesbymckinney_620_013013

I don’t think I should have to say it, but here it is: SPOILERS for Supernatural Season 8, Episode 12 “As Time Goes By”

There, now that you have been sufficiently warned… Let’s talk about Henry Winchester.

 

I knew I was going to love Henry based on the sheer fact that he was John’s father. I was thrilled to be learning more about John’s past, since all we’ve ever really heard is that he was a Marine who fought in Vietnam. I’ve always been curious about John’s family, since we know Mary’s family was all dead, I wondered if Sam and Dean knew about their dad’s family, and now we know.

It took five minutes, that was it. Five minutes and my heart melted for Henry Winchester. There is just something about Winchester men that makes them totally irresistible and wonderful on an epic scale.

I gotta say, the episode wasn’t what I expected. I heard they were doing time travel again (something I always love) and assumed angels must’ve been involved (angels, or the Doctor, but I didn’t get my hopes up there..) so whenever we started out in 1958 and it turns out that Henry is the one doing the traveling through time… Well, I was surprised.

I just have to ask though… is there just some rule that says the Winchesters can never be happy? That their lives just have to be awful? Really, I’m seriously. Let’s just take a look at all the Winchester men.

First, there’s John. He thought his father abandoned him when he was just a child, the woman he loved was brutally killed by a demon and he spent upwards of a hundred years in Hell being tortured. Now he’s God knows where, doing God knows what and he’ll never know what really happened to his father.

Then, we have Sam and Dean and I really don’t think I could ever accurately sum up the awfulness that is their lives.

And then Adam Milligan, the Winchester everyone forgets for some reason that pisses me off. Adam never did anything to deserve his fate, being trapped in Lucifer’s Cage with Michael and Lucifer, being two pissed off archangels’ punching bag for… lemme think… nearly 500 years now. The poor kid has to be mush at this point.

And now we have Henry, the man who travelled through time to stop a demon who killed his friends, who accidentally abandoned his son and never got the chance to know him and then who died because of the demon that fucked up his whole life.

Yeah, the Winchesters are cursed and the writers of Supernatural are doing this on purpose. They’re giving us these brilliant characters to fall in love with, just so they can take them from us.

Henry was such a brilliant character. I loved that he was a “Man of Letters” and the way he regarded hunters and his sheer horror at the fact that John had become a hunter, along with John’s kids… It was so sad and sweet.

I think my heart broke to pieces whenever Dean told Henry about what John’s life had been, and watching Henry read through John’s journal just about killed me, it was so… Oh, there just isn’t a word for it. When Henry realized he wasn’t going to make it back, that he wasn’t going to be able to raise his son… The tears were burning my eyes! It was so… heart-wrenching.

I didn’t expect Henry to die either… I knew he wasn’t going to make it back, of course. I’ve watched enough Doctor Who to know how time travel works. But I didn’t expect that sacrifice at the end. I gotta say, I was surprised at how calm Dean seemed… I get it, he hardly knew Henry and his last grandfather wasn’t exactly a great man.

Of course, I wasn’t surprised Henry would give his life for them… Winchesters just have that annoying habit of doing those self-sacrificing things. It’s why I love them, and hate them.

Henry was… is adorable the right word for it? For a grown man… Yeah, adorable seems like the right word. Funnily enough, I was reminded of Captain America. There was something very Steve Rogers-ish about Henry. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but my heart was his and I just spent most of the episode wanting to hug the guy and make it better.

Seeing Sam and Dean standing over his grave, Dean remarking about how their family tree was “a whole lot of dead” was just… heartbreaking. Honestly, the entire episode was heartbreaking and awful.

All I could think of was the fact that John will never know how much his father loved him, how much he wished he’d been there for him… The entire thing just had me in tears. These time travel episodes are never anything but angst and pain and a bunch of impossible situations that they just can’t fix.

It was only one episode, and my heart is aching for Henry and I already miss him. I’ve been crying since season two that I want John to come back, and now I’m crying that I want Henry back as well. This show will undoubtably be the death of me…

Comments
  1. Niala Wesley says:

    I love Henry Winchester so much! Everything about the way he was written and acted and how he brought this whole new fascinating layer into the Winchester and Supernatural mythology. I’m so glad he was brought back for an episode in S9. Except that it made me miss him even more.

    You are right that all Winchester men are heartbreaking and gorgeous and complex.

    I didn’t expect Henry to die either even though we knew he wasn’t going back to the 50s. It was so abrupt and seemed so avoidable even though Abaddon was such a formidable villain.

    Now that we’ve met Samuel & Deana Campbell and Henry Winchester, it is time that we meet Millie Winchester. We already got to meet Josie, the best friend/colleague that was in love with Millie’s husband and was the vessel that killed him.

    • sammygirl1967 says:

      I would love for them to bring Millie onto the show! I love learning about their pasts, even though it’s often painful. I’m curious about what she was like and how she’d react to Sam and Dean.

Leave a Reply

